Happy New Year

 

 

 

 

 

We had a lovely, quiet New Year’s Eve. I hope you did as well. First Brady did a little singing

DSCN1943

 

While Papa and Daddy played back up

DSCN1942

 

Then we ate and played cards for awhile and after Gramma and Papa headed home we snuggled in our bed and took silly self-portraits

DSCN1963

 

Toasted at midnight

DSCN1966

 

And headed outside (briefly, it was COLD by then) to do some silly string

DSCN1967

 

And party poppers

DSCN1977 DSCN1972

 

I can’t think of anyway I would have rather rung in the New Year than by sharing food and time with my favorite people.

As far as resolutions go mine this year are pretty simple and fun.  I think last year I resolved to work out 30 minutes a day and I realize that that kind of resolution doesn’t work for a perfectionist like myself because if (when) I eventually miss a day due to illness or injury or whatever I basically consider the whole year a wash and lose my motivation entirely. I did however get more exercise last year than the year before and that is the kind of progress I’d rather make. I don’t need to be able to say at the end of the year that I worked out this many hours or can do this many push-ups/sit ups/whatever, what I want is to be able to look back and say “You know what? It wasn’t perfect, but it was better than last year which was better than the year before.” I also set a goal to read 20 books last year and only managed 11 (to be fair many of them were LOOOOONG and one of them took me WEEKS because I hated it so much. John Irving and I are broken up, maybe for good), but reading is a part of my daily routine again and that was the root of the goal to begin with.

So this year my goals are:

1) To continue learning to cook more of my family’s meals from scratch (a project which I’ve been working on informally for a few years already).  I’m aiming for a new recipe per week, but the goal is really just to be conscious of expanding my repertoire. A lot of the recipes will likely tie in to our history and geography lessons, but I’d like to try my hand at making pasta this year and I’m sure there will be a lot of baking as well. Oh and I want to learn how to do more things with dried beans. I’ve only cooked them a couple of times so far, but they’re such a good, cheap source of protein and I hate buying bpa lined cans.

2) This is the first year I’m not going to say my goal is to lose weight. It’s taken a long time, but I’m actually really comfortable in my skin right now.  I do want to move more and continue to make our diet progressively more fruit and vegetable based (we came a long way on that last year when I made the decision to stop buying bread. We still eat it, but I find we eat it a lot less when I have to think about making it we eat it a lot less).

3)I’m going to put the drink water app back on my phone and make a concerted effort to pay attention to it.  I am just a slow drinker overall, I nurse 1 cup of coffee in the mornings and usually end up dumping half down the sink, I’ll work on 1 glass of wine all night, so it’s not even that I need to replace other things with water I just don’t drink much at all. And I know I feel better when I get at least 6 glasses a day even though I have to really kind of force myself to do it.

4)I’m going to put reading on here again, but I’m not going to pick a number of books. Rather I’m going to say that I will turn my phone off when I go to bed and read instead. It’s too easy to get caught up in a conversation on Facebook or something and stay up later than I should.

I think 4 is plenty. As I said on New Year’s Eve, this past year was the first one that I didn’t want to slam the door on in a long time.  We ended the year in a house we love, in a better financial position, in better health, and with a schedule that provides us more family time than we started it with.  Brady developed a love of reading and learned so much overall and my marriage is probably the strongest it’s ever been.  This year, instead of drastic change, all I really want is more of the same.

What are your resolutions this year?

Leave a Reply

