First day

I don’t write here much anymore, but I like doing a DITL post on our first day. It serves as sort of a homeschooling scrapbook and allows me to look back and see how our days have evolved.

Brady woke up at 4 this morning asking to open his schultüte and start his schoolwork (I am not the only one whose favorite holiday is the first day of school, it seems). I pulled him into our bed for a cuddle instead and he went back to sleep until the much more reasonable hour of 9am.

Then there was schultüte opening

image

Breakfast

image

And the traditional first day picture

image

Before we started in earnest with handwriting

image

Grammar

image

Vocabulary

image

Literature

image

World history over an early lunch

image

A geography lesson on reading maps

image

Duolingo (French this year) and kitty snuggles on the balcony

image

image

Then creative writing

image

And a lesson on algorithms

image

image

With daddy followed by his daily chore

image

All told it took us roughly 2.5 hours start to finish. I deliberately planned a light schedule on Mondays to ease us into the week, but I think Tues-Fri should be more like 3-3.5 hours. That will be split up, though, as I’ve gone back to work full-time and that means splitting teaching duties between myself, my husband, and our part-time nanny.

image

It’s definitely new, but I think it will be good for Brady to be exposed to different teaching styles and I found good, solid, user-friendly curricula to keep things consistent as well.

So that’s what we’re up to this year. How are things in your homeschool?

Leave a Reply

